Details Panel Frozen

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

iWizardPro

Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:22 pm

Post by iWizardPro » Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:31 pm
Hello,

I am currently running the latest version of Viscosity for Windows. I think there may be a bug in the details window that is causing it to freeze. I was connected to my VPN service for 5 hours or so (with the details window open the whole time), and then the charts froze, and the buttons to interchange between the graph, the bandwidth, and the log all stopped responding.

I tried closing the window and disconnecting from the VPN to get it to respond again but to no avail. After experimenting for 15 minutes, I discovered that if you resize the window, it unfreezes automatically. I think this must be a bug, and might be worth investigating. Thanks!

- Ryan

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:28 pm
Hi Ryan,

Thanks for reporting this! Do you know how much data had passed through the connection before the freeze? After the resize which fixed the problem, has it happened again?

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

iWizardPro

Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:22 pm

Post by iWizardPro » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:05 pm
I believe I had about ~1.5 GB incoming and I would think about 100 MB out. So far, it has not happened again. But, I am on my VPN again today, and I will see if it happens again.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:47 pm
Thanks Ryan,

In the mean time we'll have a go at replicating it.

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

iWizardPro

Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:22 pm

Post by iWizardPro » Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Sadly, I have had no luck replicating the issue again, it seems to have been a one time bug. My VPN connections seem to be fine, even after running them for 7 hours and 37 minutes, so it might have just been my computer acting weird.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:03 pm
Thanks for your help there Ryan,

I have a feeling I know what caused it, I will add something to the next version to hopefully prevent it ever occuring again. One of those things where all the planets align, I doubt I'm ever going to be able to replicate on our test machines.

Thanks again!

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
6 posts Page 1 of 1