Viscosity full DNS stops internet access

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

bloomtampa

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:47 am

Post by bloomtampa » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:48 am
I use Viscosity to connect to my companies VPN. In settings I must choose Full DNS (Use VPN for all traffic) for my VPN applications to work. The problem is when I connect I get no internet access. My OS is Windows 10 Enterprise.

Is there a work around for this?

Thanks!

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:38 pm
Hi bloomtampa,

Are you able to elaborate on why you must use Full DNS? For most company VPN setups, you would want to use Split DNS.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

bloomtampa

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:47 am

Post by bloomtampa » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:45 am
I don't know that answer as I am the user. I know my Cisco phone will not work unless FULL DNS is selected.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:29 am
Hi bloomtampa,

It sounds like the needed domains are not being setup for the VPN for Split DNS, and traffic is being blocked by the VPN Server for Full DNS. You will need to contact your VPN Provider for assistance, this would most likely be your company IT in this case - https://sparklabs.com/support/kb/articl ... ovider-is/

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
4 posts Page 1 of 1